Spain adopts IHRA definition of antisemitism

The government of Spain has adopted the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance’s definition of antisemitism.

The Federation of Jewish Communities of Spain issued a statement Wednesday thanking the Spanish government for its decision.

The IHRA working definition describes various forms of antisemitism, including hatred and discrimination against Jews, Holocaust denial and, sometimes controversially, expressions of criticism of Israel.

Spain has been a member of the alliance since 2008. It is one of 34 member countries.

In June, the parliament of the Spanish state the Balearic Islands Autonomous Community passed legislation declaring the Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions movement against Israel a form of antisemitism as defined by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance.

Spain’s judiciary has repeatedly defined BDS as a discriminatory endeavor, but legislation reflecting this view rarely passes.

Which countries have adopted the Working Definition of Antisemitism so far ? 

The following countries have so far adopted the IHRA Working Definition of Antisemitism:

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, The Netherlands, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Source: jpost