Austria joins Durban conference boycott

Austria is the eighth country to announce it will not participate in the Durban IV conference in New York in September, marking the 20th anniversary of the World Conference on Racism in the South Africa city, which was rife with antisemitism.

“Austria supports efforts to combat racism worldwide, while rejecting the misuse of the Durban process to unfairly single out and target Israel,” the Austrian Embassy in Israel said on Friday. “Therefore, Austria abstained from the vote to hold a high-level conference in New York to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the Durban conference. There will be no participation at the political level.”

Other countries who intend to boycott Durban IV include the US, Israel, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom and Hungary.

Source: Jpost